Wonder

I sometimes wonder
Why I yearn for the ones I loved,
And love, and those I
Pushed away myself.
The ragged troughs
Of my heart have hardened
Over time I’ve seen
That my hurtful words have
Mostly only hurt me.

And why cannot I forgive every
Little and big
Mistake, the crimes
I commit.
Why cannot I forget, the
Dark me, blackening every little
Red heart and crossing
Out every I love you,
And I wonder why cannot
I change, for the ones I love
Why cannot I.

This is just a jumbled up something I wrote under 5 minutes. Not a very substantial poem, agreed. But true enough.

Posted from WordPress for Android

8 thoughts on “Wonder

    • Shafia says:

      Haha thank you so much! I was so unsure about this piece. I don’t write poetry a lot (don’t really consider it as one of my strong points).
      Your appreciation has been encouraging, thanks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ronald says:

    Beautiful, except for the comment at the end (“This is just a jumbled up something I wrote under 5 minutes. Not a very substantial poem, agreed. But true enough.”) Dump the fear, just be your wonderful self. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

